CCI Toronto Committees

Communication Committee

Mandate: The aims of the Communications Committee surround the publication and circulation of the chapter’s award winning, quarterly Condovoice magazine and to utilize social media and the chapter’s website as a means for members of CCI-T to access resources and for others to learn more about CCI. 

Current Initiatives / Recent Accomplishments: The Communications Committee has focused beyond print distribution of Condovoice through the production and circulation of podcasts that complement print articles and the electronic distribution of the magazine’s archive, including through Apple News Stand. The Communications Committee is engagine in the ongoing development and circulation of social media campaigns to draw attention to CCI-T and its resources for condominium directors, owners and residents and continuing to host regular Twitter chats and Facebook Live discussions on topics of interest to all involved in condominiums.

CondoSTRENGTH Committee

Mandate: To provide condominium directors with a forum to learn from and with one another through the development and circulation of on-line resources, facilitating the hosting of director networking events by local condominiums and developing forms of recognition to encourage and promote successful condominium communities. The CondoSTRENGTH program has been developed for directors, by directors as an additional benefit of membership to CCI-T condo corporation members and is designed as a grassroots program that empowers condominium directors to come together and share.

Current Initiatives / Recent Accomplishments: The CondoSTRENGTH Committee has developed and shared success stories that have been added to the on-line toolbox of program resources. The committee continues to encourage interested condominiums to consider hosting director networking events which are held roughly three times per year. Condominium directors who have overcome challenges or otherwise have experiences that other directors may benefit from learning about are encouraged to take part

Conference Committee

Mandate: coming soon

Current Initiatives / Recent Accomplishments: The ACMO/CCI-T Conference Committee is established for the sole purpose of organizing an annual condominium conference promoted by ACMO and CCI-T in the Toronto Area during November of each year. The Conference provides seminars addressed to condominium directors and property managers, although other target audiences may be included. The Conference Committee organizes topics, speakers, seminars, the conference format, location, facilities, budget, exhibitors’ trade show, sponsors, attendees, preparation of brochures, the conference booklet, the on-site program, meal arrangements, hotel arrangements, advertising, promotion and financing.

Education Committee

Mandate: Our goal is to provide interested individuals with the skills and knowledge necessary to conduct the affairs of a condominium corporation in a proper and diligent manner.

Current Initiatives / Recent Accomplishments: The mission of the Education Committee is to provide education courses and seminars for members and through doing so, enhance the development and understanding of condominiums for unit owners, boards of directors and others.

Participation in these courses is highly recommended for all condominium directors as well as owners who want a better understanding of the way condominiums function.

Legislative Committee

Mandate: The mandate of the Legislative Committee is largely twofold:

  1. To review and analyze the provisions of the Condominium Act and ongoing amendments to the Regulations and collaborate with various groups, including other CCI Chapters and stakeholders, in order to produce and present to the Ontario government with suggested recommendations and amendments to improve condominium legislation, and working with the government to implement them.
  2. To keep abreast of other legislation that could impact on the Act, condominium law and the condominium industry in Ontario, and report to the Board of Directors and members appropriately.
Membership Committee

Mandate: The mandate of the Membership Committee is to expand the membership of the Institute. The Membership Committee shall also establish programs and strategies to promote growth and to maintain membership.

Special Projects Committee

Mandate: To liaise as a stakeholder with outside organizations and to provide input, research and reporting on specific interests and developments in the condominium industry for the benefit of members concerning most timely, current issues, concerns and developments.

Volunteer Resource Committee

Mandate: The Volunteer Resources committee works to recruit volunteers who will support and promote CCI-T and participate in the needs of the many volunteer committees.

They aim to match volunteer’s skill sets and experience with the specific needs of each committee and also ensure that volunteers are not overtaxed with participation on too many committees without proper support to ensure continued volunteer efforts. The committee recognizes the special efforts and participation of the large volunteer base of CCI-T through various and repeated annual events. Providing an orientation program for new volunteers also falls under the mandate of this committee.

Committee Members 2018/2019

Membership Committee

Chair: Lyndsey McNally
Members: Brian Antman, Ryan Griffiths, Robin Klem, Brenda Hooper-Rowland, Doug King and Vic Persaud

Conference Committee

Co-Chairs:  Tania Haluk and Audrey McGuire
Members: Brian Antman, Brian Horlick, Murray Johnson, Dean McCabe, Catherine Murdock, and Robert Thackeray

Education Committee

Chair:  Mario Deo
Members: Joel Berkovitz, John Devellis, Bob Girard, Patrick Greco, Nancy Longuiera, Megan Mackey, Richard Pearlstein, Tania Haluk and Sally Thompson

Legislative Committee

Chair: Armand Conant
Members: Francesco Deo, Tim Duggan, Deborah Howden. Lyndsey McNally and Victor Yee

Communications Committee

Chair:  Marc Bhalla
Members: Luis Hernandez, Brian Horlick, Warren Kleiner, Sue Langlois, Joy Mathews, Megan Molloy, Jason Rivait and Alex Young

Marketing Committee

Chair: Sue Langlois
Members: Marc Bhalla, Mario Deo, Patricia Elia, Steve Ilkew and Lyndsey McNally

Special Projects Committee

Chair: Ernie Nyitrai
Members:  Brian Horlick, Venu Kalidoss and Dale Kerr

Volunteer Resource Committee

Chair: Murray Johnson
Members: Dale Kerr, Mo Killu, Sue Langlois, Ernie Nyitrai and Ashley Winberg

CondoSTRENGTH Committee

Co-Chairs: Mo Killu and Ernie Nyitrai
Members: Marc Bhalla, William Choi, Pam Churchill, Justin Dyer,  Josh Milgrom, Connie Pappas-Bocchito, Les Shernofsky and Bill Thompson

Finance Committee

Chair: Brian Antman
Member: Bob Girard